While the number of fatal motor vehicle accidents has fallen nationwide over the past 12 years, it ticked up 7 percent in 2015. Overall, more than 35,000 died in motor vehicle accidents in the United States in 2015, costing the economy more than $242 billion. In Wyoming, 145 people died in 129 accidents, translating into nearly 25 deaths per 100,000 residents.
It’s that high rate of fatalities per capita that makes Wyoming one of the most dangerous states for drivers in the country, according to research from the International Institute for Highway Safety. Factors that contribute to the state’s deadly roads include:
Wyoming is tied for third with the country’s highest interstate speed limit.
Only about 79 percent of Wyoming drivers use their seatbelts, nearly 10 percent less than the national average.
A disproportionate amount of traffic deaths occur on rural roads. In Wyoming, more than 80 percent of fatalities occur on rural roads.
Contact a defense lawyer at our Burg Simpson Wyoming office at 307-527-7891 or fill out our Free Case Evaluation form if you’ve been issued a speeding ticket and have questions or concerns about your rights.
Mitigating Factors in Auto Accidents
Getting into a motor vehicle accident does not necessarily mean that you will lose your license, but certain circumstances can actually make that happen. For example, you can lose your license if your accident included:
- DUI. Driving under the influence of drugs and/or alcohol can cost your driving privileges for 90 days for a first offense.
- Leaving the scene.
- Reckless driving.
- Vehicular homicide.
- Operating a vehicle during the commission of a felony.
Wyoming does not have a point system, and drivers can lose their driving privileges for 90 days if they are cited for four driving infractions within a year. Subsequent violations result in an additional 90 days for violation.
Finally, suspension in Wyoming fall into one of two categories:
- Mandatory: This is a suspension for a set time frame.
- Indefinite: This is obviously an open-ended suspension.
You can also have your driver’s license revoked in Wyoming, which is essentially an outright cancellation that can only be reversed following an investigation. If you have been in a car accident and you are facing the loss of your driver’s license, do not take any chances. Get the legal help you need immediately from a Burg Simpson criminal defense lawyer. Call 307-527-7891 to speak with us before it is too late.
YOU NEED HELP FROM A CRIMINAL DEFENSE LAW FIRM
If you have lost your license or are wondering what to do after you have been in an automobile accident, do not attempt to negotiate your case on your own. Call a Burg Simpson trial attorney in Wyoming today at 307-527-7891 or complete our Free Case Evaluation Form HERE.