In 2016, there were nearly 14,000 motor vehicle accidents in the state of Wyoming, with 100 of them ending in a fatality. More than a quarter of those fatalities involved a driver under the influence of alcohol. If you have been in an accident that involved a drunk driver, you need to speak with a DUI lawyer immediately.
When your very liberty is at stake, you need a criminal defense lawyer who possesses both the necessary experience and resources to defend you successfully, even if it means going to court. At Burg Simpson in Wyoming, our award-winning team of lawyers, paralegals, and support staff have represented hundreds of Wyoming residents and out-of-state visitors over the last 40 years. We have successfully defended a wide variety of felony and misdemeanors charges.
If you need lawyer services with a criminal defense matter, call the Wyoming office of Burg Simpson at 307-527-7891 or fill out our Free Case Evaluation form as soon as possible.
What Are Wyoming’s DUI Laws?
Like every other state, Wyoming is an implied consent state when it comes to drinking and driving. What this means is that anytime someone gets behind the wheel of a motor vehicle in Wyoming, they implicitly consent to a chemical or blood test. Drivers stopped for suspicion of driving under the influence who refuse automatically lose their license.
The blood alcohol limit for drivers over 21 is set at .08 percent in Wyoming. For younger drivers, that limit is set at .02 percent. Punishments vary and include:
- First offense: Up to six months imprisonment; up to $750 fine; license suspension for up to 90 days.
- Second offense (or two offenses with five years): Up to six months imprisonment; up to $750 fine; license suspension for up to one year. Additionally, mandatory minimum prison time of seven days; a minimum fine of $200, and the installation of an ignition interlock device for one year.
- Third and subsequent offenses (or three offenses with five years): Up to six months imprisonment; up to $3,000 fine; license suspension for up to three years. Additionally, mandatory minimum prison time of 30 days; a minimum fine of $750, and the installation of an ignition interlock device for two years.
- A fourth offense within five years: Charge upgraded to a felony, which includes up to two years imprisonment; up to $10,000 fine; license suspension for three years. Additionally, mandatory minimum prison time of 30 days; a minimum fine of $750, and the installation of an ignition interlock device for five years to life.
If you have been arrested for driving while under the influence of alcohol, get help from the criminal defense law firm of Burg Simpson today. Call right now at 307-527-7891.
IF YOU NEED A CRIMINAL LAW ATTORNEY, BURG SIMPSON CAN HELP
If you need legal counsel or representation in a criminal matter, Burg Simpson’s experienced attorneys can help. Call us today at 307-527-7891 or fill out a Free Case Evaluation Form.