As a general rule, out-of-state drivers fare much worse on Wyoming’s roads than residents – by an almost two-to-one margin. In 2012, the Wyoming Highway Patrol issued 21,225 speeding tickets to Wyoming residents. Out-of-state motorists, on the other hand, received more than 39,600 citations. Drivers from Colorado, Utah, California, Montana, Idaho, and Texas received the most speeding tickets.
Even though Wyoming boasts a higher-than-average interstate speed limit of 80 mph – or maybe because of it – speeding tickets can be costly, in more ways than one. First-time speeders in Wyoming can be fined up to $200, earn a jail sentence as long as 30 days, and can even lose their license for up to a year. First-time reckless drivers can earn a ticket that can cost as much as $850, with the added risk of a six-month jail sentence.
If you have been issued a speeding ticket and have questions or concerns about your rights, get in touch with our a Wyoming criminal lawyers of Burg Simpson at 307-527-7891 or fill out our Free Case Evaluation form today.
DRIVING IN WYOMING
Speed limits can vary widely in Wyoming, based on the roadway in question:
- 80 mph: interstates
- 70 mph: four-lane divided highways
- 70 mph: other paved highways
- 65 mph: urban freeways
- 55 mph: unpaved roads
- 30 mph: residential and urban districts
- 20 mph: school zones.
Additionally, Wyoming does not have a point system, but drivers can lose their license if they rack up more than three moving violations in less than 12 months. If your driving habits have earned you a suspension, do not put your driving privileges at risk. Get legal assistance from a Burg Simpson criminal law lawyer by calling 307-527-7891.
COMMERCIAL DRIVERS IN WYOMING
In Wyoming, along with most other states, commercial drivers are held to a higher standard than other motor vehicle operators. As such, commercial drivers in the state can lose their license much easier. For example, a commercial driver can lose their driving privileges for a year if the driver:
- Leaves the scene of a motor vehicle accident.
- Is stopped with a blood alcohol concentration of 0.04 percent or higher.
- Is stopped while under the influence of any controlled substance.
- Failed to follow implied consent laws.
- Causes a fatality due to negligence in the operation of a commercial vehicle.
- Committed a felony with a commercial vehicle; this can include the distribution, production, and/or distribution of a controlled substance.
- Operated a commercial vehicle while under suspension, revocation or cancellation.
If you are a commercial vehicle operator who depends on his or her ability to drive to earn a living, call Burg Simpson in Wyoming as soon as possible at 307-527-7891 and get help from a criminal defense attorney right away.
BURG SIMPSON WYOMING ATTORNEYS CAN HELP
If you have lost your license or are wondering what to do about a traffic violation, do not handle the situation without professional legal help. Call Burg Simpson’s Wyoming office now at 307-527-7891 or complete our Free Case Evaluation Form here.