While arrests tied to alcohol have been on the decline in Wyoming for years, drug arrests have actually been on the rise. Officials blame the rise in drug crimes on Colorado’s legalization of marijuana and strong population growth, drawn by the state’s booming economy.
Despite the sudden popularity of legal marijuana across the country, it is still considered an illegal substance by most states and the federal government. If you have been arrested for possession of a dangerous controlled substance, contact Burg Simpson in Wyoming at 307-527-7891 or fill out our Free Case Evaluation.
Wyoming Drug Classifications
Wyoming state law follows the U.S. Drug Enforcement classifications for controlled dangerous substances:
- Schedule 1: These are drugs that have a high potential for abuse and have no accepted medical use. Examples include heroin, LSD, marijuana, mescaline, MDMA (ecstasy), GHB, psilocybin, methaqualone, that, and bath salts.
- Schedule 2: These are drugs that have a high potential for abuse, but also have an accepted medical use with severe restrictions. These drugs can also lead to severe psychological or physical dependency. Some better-known examples include methadone, oxycodone, fentanyl, morphine, opium, codeine, hydrocodone, amphetamine, methamphetamine, and pentobarbital.
- Schedule 3: Drugs in this schedule have a potential for abuse less than substances in Schedules I or II and abuse may lead to moderate or low physical dependence or high psychological dependence.
- Schedule 4: These drugs have a much lower potential for abuse relative to substances in Schedule III.
- Schedule 5: These drugs have a low potential for abuse relative to substances listed in Schedule IV and consist primarily of preparations containing limited quantities of certain narcotics.
If you have been arrested for possession of any controlled substance, do not talk to anyone without first speaking to a trained defense attorney. Call Burg Simpson’s Cody office right away at 307-527-7891.
What Are Wyoming’s Drug Penalties?
In Wyoming, it is illegal to possess any of these drugs without a prescription. Penalties vary based on the type and amount of the substance, for example:
- Schedule I, II, III, or IV drugs: Penalties for possessing the following amounts include a fine of up to $1,000, and/or up to one year in prison. Third and subsequent offenses of this type incur a fine of up to $5,000, and/or up to five years in prison.
- Plant form: Three ounces or less.
- Liquid form: Three-tenths of a gram or less.
- Powder/crystalline form: Three grams or less.
- Pill/capsule form: Three grams or less.
- Cocaine in “crack” cocaine form: Less than five-tenths of a gram.
- LSD: Less than three-tenths of a gram.
If you have been arrested for any crime related to theft, do not try to navigate the state’s complicated criminal justice system on your own. Get legal assistance from a Burg Simpson attorney at law by calling 307-527-7891.
Contact Our Burg Simpson Wyoming Attorneys Today
If you are in trouble with the law over a drug-related crime, do not attempt to negotiate with prosecutors on your own. You need the legal expertise and resources of a criminal defense law firm like Burg Simpson and our Wyoming criminal lawyers can help. Call us before it is too late at 307-527-7891 or fill out our Free Case Evaluation Form now to speak with us directly.