Iraq War Veteran Suit Tepezza Claims Firm News search
Home > Attorneys > Morgan L. Carroll

Morgan L. Carroll

Special Counsel

Morgan Carroll is a third generation Colorado Trial Lawyer. Morgan has over 20 years of legal experience. She began her practice with one of the first mother-daughter law firms in Colorado. Her areas of practice have included personal injury, workers’ compensation, social security disability, long-term disability, Title VII, wrongful termination, wage claims, and family law. Morgan’s advocacy for clients and causes led her to run for the Colorado legislature in 2004 as a commitment to make and change laws to better serve the people of Colorado. She was elected and served in the state house from 2005 to 2008, including as Majority Caucus Chair, Vice Chair of Judiciary Committee and member of Health and Human Services, Legal Services, Audit Committee and Business Labor and Technology Committee.

Morgan then served in the Colorado state senate from 2009 to 2017, including as Senate President, Majority Leader, Caucus Chair, Chair of Judiciary, and member of Audit Committee and Legal Services committee. Morgan ran for Congress in 2016. Morgan continued practicing law on a part-time basis while serving in the legislature.

Morgan’s legislative career was marked by successfully passing lobbying reforms, consumer protections, campaign finance reforms, insurance reforms, environmental protections, criminal justice reforms, civil rights legislation and expanding homeowners’ rights. In addition to hosting hundreds of town halls, and teaching hundreds of community seminars teaching citizen lobbying, she is the author of Take Back Your Government: A Citizen’s Guide to Grassroots Change.

Morgan most recently served as the full-time Chair of the Colorado Democratic party from 2017 – 2023 and led Colorado to the highest number of electoral victories and majorities in the history of the state. Morgan is passionately involved in civil advocacy work for survivors of sexual assault and sex trafficking. She currently serves as an Ambassador for Colorado Coalition Against Sexual Assault (CCASA). Her entire career has been focused on putting people first and pursuing justice for people who are injured or harmed by others.

Honors & Accolades

  • El Paso Democratic Party – Appreciation
  • Montezuma County Democratic Party – Appreciation
  • Colorado Black Round Table – Outstanding Service to Community
  • Greater Denver Ministerial Alliance – Community Award
  • Colorado Trial Lawyers Association – Access to Justice Award
  • Denver Tech Center Rotary Club Speaking Appreciation
  • CO Korean Association – Appreciation
  • CO Coalition Against Sexual Assault – Legislative Excellence Award
  • CO For Alternatives to Death Penalty – Lifetime Achievement Abolition Award
  • Armenians of Colorado – Advocate of Justice
  • Honorary Order of the Coif – CU Law School
  • CO Black Women for Political Action – Supporting Black Women, AA Community
  • Planned Parenthood of Colorado – Champion of Choice
  • Aurora Econ Development Council – A-List Leadership Award
  • CO Cable Telecommunications Assn – Legislator of the Year
  • CO Ambulatory Surgery Center Assn – Legislator of the Year
  • CO Alliance Retired Americans – Appreciation – 100% Voting Record Seniors
  • CP of Colorado (Cerebral Palsy) – Outstanding Legislator
  • CO Women’s Chamber of Commerce & Denver Women’s Commission – Lawmakers Award
  • CO Interfaith Voices for Justice – Joseph Award: Vulnerable Populations
  • CO Reapportionment Commission – Service as Commissioner
  • ACLU – Ralph L. Carr Award Crim Justice
  • African American Voice – Wilma Webb Co-Legislator of Year
  • Arapahoe County Democrats – Democrat of the Year
  • CO Social Legislation Committee – Leg Award, Consumers, Workers, Transp
  • WCEA – Donald S. Harder Service Award
  • Regis University – 2nd Annual JustFaith Gathering Cert App
  • Healthcare for All Colorado – Courageous Leadership in Healthcare
  • American Cancer Society – Recognition SB08-1389, HB09-1059
  • CO Orgs Responding to AIDS – Barbara A. Jones Award
  • CO Cross Disabilities Coalition – Healthcare Access Award
  • Colorado Trial Lawyers Association – Legislator of the Year
  • Executive Order Gov. Ritter – Appointment: CO Adv Council Persons with Disabilities
  • CO Freedom of Info Council – Sue O’Brien Award Public Service
  • United Veterans Committee – Distinguished Legislator Award
  • Nurse Alliance SEIU Healthcare – Leadership Recognition
  • Colorado Democratic Party – Rising Star Award
  • Aurora Sun Sentinel – Hot Stuff: Best Local Politician
  • Douglas County Democratic Party – Leadership & Service Award

Bar Admissions

  • Colorado Bar – 2000
  • U.S. District Court – 2001
  • 10th Circuit – 2001


  • J.D., 2000, University of Colorado School of Law; Class president, Honorary Order of the Coif (2015)
  • B.A., 1996, University of Colorado at Denver, Psychology With Distinction
  • A.A., 1994, Community College of Denver, General Studies
  • Gerry Spence Trial Lawyer College Certificate


Lectures & Seminars

  • CLE Faculty
  • Elder Law and Probate
  • Workers’ Compensation
  • Campaign Finance Laws
  • Legislative townhall meetings
  • How to be a Citizen Lobbyist
  • How to run for elected office
  • Voter registration trainings
  • Colorado Conversations – Statewide Issue Townhalls

Community Involvement

  • Candidate recruitment
  • State, local and national party-building
  • Organizing caucuses, assemblies and conventions
  • Campaign Engagement
  • Presidential
  • US Senate
  • US Congress
  • Governor
  • Attorney General
  • Secretary of State
  • State Treasurer
  • CU Regent
  • State Board of Education
  • State Legislative
  • County Seats
  • Municipal
  • School Board elections
  • Colorado Black Women for Political Action
  • Colorado Black Roundtable
  • NAACP – Aurora Chapter


Professional Affiliations

  • Colorado Trial Lawyers Association (CTLA)
  • Colorado Women’s Bar Association (CWBA)
  • American Association for Justice (AAJ)
  • Colorado Bar Association
  • Arapahoe County Bar Association
  • Ambassador, Colorado Coalition Against Sexual Assault (CCASA)
  • Top 100 National Trial Lawyers