Drunk Driving Victim Lawyers Serving Phoenix & All of Arizona
Police arrested nearly 1.2 million drunk drivers in 2015, the most recent year for which data is available. Despite that crackdown, drunk driving accidents still managed to take the lives of 10,265 on the roads that year – accounting for nearly a third of all traffic fatalities nationwide. In Arizona, drunk drivers killed 272 people in 2015.
Arizona consistently ranks as one of the toughest states when it comes to drunk driving penalties. Even first-time offenders have to serve at least 24 hours in jail, pay a fine of at least $1,250 while facing a license suspension that can range anywhere from 90-360 days.
If you have been hurt by a drunk driver, you need to call a Drunk Driving Victim’s Attorney in Phoenix at Burg Simpson Arizona immediately at 602-777-7000 or complete a Free Case Evaluation form to discuss your case with us now.
HOW DOES ARIZONA CLASSIFY DUIS?
Like everywhere else, Arizona law enforcement classifies DUIs based on blood alcohol concentration, in addition to other circumstance surrounding the event. The classifications include:
- Standard DUI – Driving with a Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) of .08 percent or more. Or, with a BAC of .04 percent or more, if a commercial vehicle is involved. For anyone under 21, driving with any amount of alcohol will result in an arrest.
- Extreme DUI – Driving with a Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) of .15 percent or more.
- Aggravated DUI – Driving with a suspended, revoked or cancelled while intoxicated. Or, a third DUI offense within 84 months. Or, driving under the influence with a passenger younger than 15 in the vehicle.
Has a drunk driving accident left you or a family member seriously injured? Contact one of our Drunk Driving Victim’s Attorneys in Phoenix for help with your case before it is too late at 602-777-7000.
HOW DOES ARIZONA PENALIZE DUIS?
Arizona’s penalties for DUIs are among the nation’s stiffest. Penalties include:
- Standard DUI – First-time offenders face 10 days in jail, a $1,250 fine, a mandated alcohol/drug program, an ignition interlock requirement, and community service. Subsequent offenses warrant jail time of at least 90 days, a $3,000 fine, driver’s license revocation for one year, required completion of an alcohol/drug program, an ignition interlock requirement, and community service.
- Extreme DUI – First-time drunk drivers face 30 days in jail, a $2,500 fine, mandated alcohol/drug program, an ignition interlock requirement, and community service. Subsequent extreme DUI offenses will draw a sentence of at least 120 days in jail, a $3,250 fine, a one-year driver’s license revocation, a required alcohol/drug program, an ignition interlock requirement, and community service.
- Aggravated DUI – Aggravated drunk drivers face two years in prison, a driver’s license revocation for one year, alcohol/drug program, an ignition interlock requirement, and community service.
If you or a loved one has been seriously injured as a result of someone’s irresponsible drunk driving, call Burg Simpson Arizona at 602-777-7000 and talk to a Drunk Driving Victims Attorney in Phoenix today.
LET OUR BURG SIMPSON LAWYERS IN PHOENIX HELP YOU
If you have been seriously hurt by an impaired driver, reach out to Burg Simpson, your Phoenix personal injury law firm, as soon as possible. We are committed to helping all victims harmed by drunk drivers. We want to help you on the road to recovery. We also want to keep these offenders off the road! Call our Burg Simpson Arizona office right away at 602-777-7000 or fill out our Free Case Evaluation Form.