Under Wyoming uninsured and under-insured motorist laws, auto insurance companies are required to sell uninsured/underinsured coverage as part of every policy. Uninsured/underinsured coverage pays for damages caused by a driver with no insurance or with less insurance than is needed. If you or a loved one has been injured in a motor vehicle accident with an uninsured driver, speak with a Wyoming personal injury lawyer before it is too late.
Liability insurance pays for bodily injury or property damage claims in the event of an accident. Wyoming law requires drivers to carry at a minimum:
- $25,000 for bodily injury or death, per accident
- $50,000 for total bodily injury or death for multiple people in an accident
- $20,000 for property damage
If you are involved in an automobile accident caused by an under-insured driver, you will be compensated for your damages by the under-insured driver’s insurance company up to the limits of their policy. Once that limit has been reached, you will make a claim for the remainder of the damages with your insurance company.
Depending on the circumstance of the accident, your own insurance company might choose not to compensate you if they feel you were some way at fault. In our experience, insurance companies will attempt to settle these claims quickly and for far less than what they are really worth. If you are faced with this situation, do not try to negotiate your way through the situation on your own. Contact an experienced Wyoming personal injury attorney by calling us quickly at 307-527-7891 or fill out our Free Case Evaluation form.
Opting for the lowest level of car insurance coverage is rarely the best decision since the minimum coverage available is often not enough to cover you in the event of a serious accident. It is a good idea to make sure your insurance policy coverage is adequate for you and your family’s needs in the event of an accident since you might need to file a claim for:
- Medical expenses
- Lost wages and/or loss of future wages
- Funeral expenses (in the event of a wrongful death)
- Loss of consortium (the claim of a spouse of an injured person)
- Pain and suffering
If a motor vehicle accident has left you seriously injured, call Burg Simpson today and speak with a personal injury lawyer in our Wyoming office at 307-527-7891.
Experienced Insurance Bad Faith Lawyers
We have spent more than 40 years standing up for the rights of people who have been victims of bad faith insurance practices. Our highly skilled accident injury lawyers at Burg Simpson are fully equipped to handle every aspect of your claim. We work on a percentage-fee basis, so it costs our clients nothing to move forward with their claim. Our fees are based on any settlement that we recover for you. As in all personal injury lawsuits, your time to file a claim is limited, so fill out our Free Case Evaluation Form today or give us a call at 307-527-7891.