In most cases, employees in Colorado Springs can file a workers’ compensation claim after an accident leaves them injured while on the job. However, it’s a long way between that initial claim and receiving the compensation you deserve. Burg Simpson’s workers’ compensation department head, Nick D. Fogel, and his team can help get you there.
Nick’s practice is devoted to people who have been hurt on the job or in the line of duty. Nick has extensive courtroom experience handling a broad range of cases. In 2010, for example, Law Week Colorado named Nick one of Colorado’s Up-and-Coming Lawyers, a distinction given to attorneys who have already accomplished tremendous things professionally and in the community. Here are a few more of Nick Fogel’s accolades:
If you’ve been hurt while on the job, call Burg Simpson right now at 303-792-5595!
Workers’ Compensation in Colorado Springs
At least once a week, someone in Colorado is killed on the job. Thousands more get hurt badly enough that they’re forced to miss work. Those injuries costs employers millions of dollars in claims, judgements, and settlements annually. In 2013, for example, Colorado employers – and their insurance companies – settled more than 5,700 cases for more than $187 million.
El Paso County, for example, the home of the state’s second-largest city – Colorado Springs – accounts for less than 1 percent of the state’s jobs, but nearly 9 percent of the state’s lost time claims.
Filing for workers’ compensation isn’t as easy as it may seem. Colorado workers’ compensation law, which covers Colorado Springs employees, stretches on for dozens of pages. The rules of procedure, which dictates how workers’ compensation claims are handled, is even longer. All of this paperwork probably explains why injured workers who work with an attorney are able to secure settlements that are about eight times larger – on average – than those who represent themselves. Don’t make the mistake of trying to handle your own workers’ compensation claim alone. Call a work comp attorney in Colorado Springs today.
Colorado Springs Workers Face an Uphill Battle
The original intent of workers’ compensation was to act as a safety net – for employees and employers alike. The law provides that employees will receive medical coverage and wage compensation in the event of an accident at work. In turn, employers are insulated from lawsuits. However, if you do get hurt on the job, and the state denies your claim, the burden of proof falls on you.
That is a lot more difficult when you’re suffering through an injury and you’re forced to battle your employer, their insurance company, and all of the lawyers in Colorado Springs they have lined up against you. Our experienced Colorado Springs lawyers can help level the playing field and give you a fighting chance. We’ve been fighting for the rights of injured workers and their families for 40 years. We can work with you within the rules of Colorado’s intricate workers’ comp system, and help determine your eligible benefits. We can also investigate whether you may be able to pursue any third-party claims.
Injured Workers We Represent
Burg Simpson’s Colorado Springs attorneys represent injured workers in Colorado Springs and across the state. We’ve worked with:
- CONSTRUCTION WORKERS »
- FIREFIGHTERS »
- GOVERNMENT WORKERS »
- HEALTHCARE WORKERS AND NURSES »
- JANITORIAL WORKERS AND CUSTODIANS »
- LAW ENFORCEMENT OFFICERS »
- OFFICE WORKERS AND CLERICAL STAFF »
- RETAIL WORKERS »
- TRUCK AND DELIVERY DRIVERS »
- UTILITY AND ELECTRICAL WORKERS »
- THIRD PARTY CLAIMS »
- UNIONS »
READ MORE ABOUT WHO WE SERVE
If you’re in Colorado Springs and you’ve been hurt on the job, it doesn’t cost you anything to meet with us to go over your case. And if you decide to work with us in pursuing your claim, you pay nothing. We operate on a contingency basis, which means we only receive payment if you do. Don’t wait another day to fill out our FREE Case Evaluation form or call our experienced workers comp attorneys in Colorado Springs at 303-792-5595.
Have you Been Injured on the Job?
If you’ve been hurt at work, the first thing you need to do is see your employer’s designated medical provider as soon as possible. If it’s a life-or-death situation, though, get help at the closest emergency room or urgent care center. But keep in mind that you must notify your employer about the incident within four days. Then you need to ask yourself:
- Are you getting suitable medical treatment?
- Is the insurance company looking out for your well-being?
- Are you aware of your next steps?
- Do you know how the system works?
If you’re debating about whether to try your own case, don’t. Trying to pursue your own workers’ compensation claim, without an experienced workers’ comp attorney in Colorado Springs, you risk losing more than a simple claim. No matter what your employer, or insurance company tells you, it’s within your rights to get legal help. Fill out our Free Case Evaluation form today and get the guidance you need.
Don’t Fall Into These Workers’ Comp Pitfalls
Colorado workers’ comp in Colorado Springs is complicated. Every time an employee gets hurt on the job in Colorado Springs there’s a risk that the smallest slipup can threaten your chance to receive relief for your injury. AVOID these mistakes:
- Don’t report your injury right away. You must report your injury to your employer, in writing, within four days of the accident.
- Don’t tell your doctor everything. It’s in your best interest to report every injury and symptom after the accident. Not doing so not only threatens your claim, but the chances of your recovery.
- Don’t see employer’s authorized medical provider. You must see your employer’s designated doctor about your injury unless it’s a life-or-death situation.
- Submit to treatment immediately. You have every right to ask questions, seek out second opinions and refuse surgery without putting your claim at risk. If you’re not comfortable, keep asking questions.
- Pay what the authorized care provider tells you. It’s inappropriate for the authorized provider to charge you for medical treatment right away.
That’s the easy part. The claims process gets more complicated from there. Don’t make the mistake of trying to handle your workers’ compensation claim on your own. Speak with one of our knowledgeable Colorado workers’ compensation attorneys today.
What is Your Workers’ Comp Claim Worth?
Colorado workers’ compensation law is designed to pay all of your medical expenses. There are accommodations for cash reimbursement for missed work, too. Finally, there are other benefits you may be entitled to, including:
- Temporary total disability.
- Temporary partial disability.
- Permanent total disability.
- Permanent partial disability.
- Death benefits.
The Colorado workmans comp lawyers at Burg Simpson can help you apply for additional Social Security benefits you may be entitled to, as well as assist in exploring the possibilities of filing a third-party personal injury lawsuit. Call a Colorado work comp attorney at 303-792-5595.
Who Will Pay My Medical Bills?
Your employer’s insurance carrier is required to “pay all authorized, reasonable, necessary, and related medical expenses that result from your injury.” This can include any exams, surgical procedures, therapies, after care, and hospitalization.
If your injury leaves you in need of immediate medical attention, don’t wait. Go to the nearest hospital, urgent care center or emergency room. If it’s an emergency situation, it doesn’t have to be your employer’s authorized provider. But if it’s not an emergency, you will be held financially responsible. If you’re not happy with your original medical care, you’re allowed to negotiate for a different provider, and a second opinion. You must discuss this with your attorney within 90 days. Visit a Burg Simpson Colorado Springs workers compensation attorney for help by filling out a Free Consultation form today.
What Happens if I am Unable to Work?
If you can’t return to work, you may be able to claim Temporary Disability, which includes Total Disability and Partial Disability benefits. Temporary disability benefits are the lost wages you receive until you’re able to return to work. TTD payments begin as soon as you miss three days of work or three shifts. Your primary care physician must also provide documentation of your inability to work, or stipulate the restrictions on your ability to work. When your doctor decides further care isn’t needed, you’ll be cleared to return to work.
In Colorado Springs, Temporary Total Disability benefits are calculated at two-thirds of your gross average weekly wage, which is an average of your pay over a set period of time. Overtime, bonuses, and the value of your health insurance in factored into the equation. Finally, sick time and vacation days can be rolled into your Temporary Disability payments but they can’t be used in place of them.
Questions about Workers’ Compensation
Colorado workers’ compensation law includes dozens of other rules, restrictions, and rights. To help answer all of your questions, we’ve assembled a comprehensive FAQ. But it’s no substitute for speaking with a veteran Colorado Springs injury attorney.
If you’ve been injured at work, get to a doctor quickly and keep in mind that the clock on your claim starts as soon as you’ve been hurt, so report it as soon as possible. Don’t put your health at risk. Don’t jeopardize your job. Fill out our Evaluation form to talk to us about your case for free or call us before it’s too late.
ACT NOW! CONTACT BURG SIMPSON ELDREDGE HERSH & JARDINE AS SOON AS POSSIBLE!