What Happens After Your Accident with an Uninsured Driver?
After an automobile accident, drivers may take solace in the fact that insurance will be available to handle the expenses from medical bills, property damage, lost wages, and other expenses. But what if you are involved in a motor vehicle accident with an uninsured driver? Although car insurance is required by law for all drivers, an estimated 10 percent of Nevada motorists do not have insurance, according to the Insurance Information Institute.
Nevada drivers are required to carry liability auto insurance that means certain minimums, which are $25,000 for bodily injury or death in an accident caused by the insured driver, $50,000 for total bodily injury or death, and $20,000 for property damage. If damages exhaust these coverage amounts, the at-fault driver is still financially on the hook.
Nevada is an at-fault state, which means the at-fault driver is financially responsible for losses from the accident. You can still bring a claim against the other driver, even if they do not have insurance.
What Are My Options for Filing a Claim?
Typically, after an accident where the other driver was at fault, you would file a claim with their insurance provider, but that is not an option when the other driver doesn’t have the required coverage. You may have uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage in your own policy, which is designed for situations where the driver at fault does not have enough liability coverage to adequately compensate victims, but this coverage is optional in Nevada. However, UM/UIM coverage may not be enough, especially if your injuries were severe, such as spinal cord injuries or traumatic brain injuries. UM/UIM policies also do not cover costs for damage to your vehicle.
In these cases, it may be best to enlist the services of a personal injury attorney to increase your chances of securing just compensation for your injuries. Even in cases where drivers have the legally required insurance minimums, it may not be enough to make up for pain and suffering, property damage, lost income, or loss of enjoyment of life.
If you have been injured in a car accident in Nevada and the at-fault driver did not have the state-required insurance minimums, contact Burg Simpson in Las Vegas at (702) 668-2070 or by filling out our free case evaluation to get started with a claim.