Burg Simpson Celebrates the Winners of Their Annual Scholarship Competition

Burg Simpson Celebrates the Winners of Their Annual Scholarship Competition

By Burg Simpson
April 26, 2019
2 min read

On Thursday, April 25th, Burg Simpson celebrated the winners of their annual Scholarship Competition at Magianno’s Restaurant. Burg Simpson shareholder Stephan Marsh is pictured on the left with Mr. Joshua Rodgers who just received his award as one of the ten winners for 2019. To Josh’s right are Burg Simpson shareholders Peter Burg and Michael Burg who hosted the event.  Every year, for the past eight years, Burg Simpson has offered college scholarships to the ten winners of their annual essay competition.

Each year, the firm encourages Colorado high school seniors from across the state to write a 1,500-word essay about the importance of the civil jury system as the guardian of American rights and liberties. Partnering with the Colorado High School Activities Association (CHSAA), the firm has awarded $92,000 in scholarships to college-bound students.

Following the event, scholarship winner, Josh Rogers wrote:

“I wanted to thank you all again for the wonderful reception dinner yesterday. It was truly an honor to be a recipient of your scholarship this year. 

I enjoyed being able to sit down with Micheal Burg and hear about his amazing life story and how he became a lawyer. I really look forward to reading his book, “Trial By Fire.”

This scholarship was beneficial for me not only financially, but unlike the other scholarships I have applied for, this one was about a topic that I knew very little about. I enjoyed researching the civil jury, talking to other lawyers about it, and learning why it is so important to preserve in our country. 

I look forward to staying in touch with everyone at the firm! I will make sure I let you know how college is going to Wyoming after my first semester. “

Burg Simson wishes Josh Rogers, and all the 2019 scholarship competition winners, all the best as they start college this fall!

The other winners included Ms. Madison Frotten, Ms.McKenna Gilbreth, Mr. Dale Kim, Ms. Jordan Parker, Ms. Linda Duey-Aleman, Ms. Jordan Parker, Kallie McCain, Alanna Jackson, and Juliana Pfeifer.

Congratulations and all the best to all of the 2019 Burg Simpson Annual Scholarship Competition Winners!

Free case evaluation form